The ‘Dream Defenders’ series by Tom Percival.

There’s a brand new look and a brand new title for Tom Percival’s Dream Defender series. Erika and the Anger Mare was originally released as Dream Team: Attack of the Heebie Jeebies , whilst Chandra and the Devious Doubt was previously released as Dream Team: A Case of the Jitters. Presumably these changes were made to make the Dream Team series look more in line with Tom’s amazing Big Bright Feelings picture book series.

Silas and the Marvellous Misfits is an entirely new addition to the series. It’s also a Marcus Rashford Book Club choice!

‘Erika has a BIG secret. She’s a member of the Dream Defenders – a top-secret organisation that banishes your worries while you sleep!

And tonight they’re on a mission to rescue Erika’s best friend Silas from the clutches of the evil Glooms – creatures who want everyone in the dream world to look and think exactly the same way!

Can the Dream Defenders save Silas and help him to see that being a misfit can be a truly marvellous thing?’

This newest instalment in the series encourages readers to have the confidence to be themselves and celebrate differences. It also challenges gender stereotypes in children’s toys when Erika’s dad isn’t too happy that her baby brother wants to play with a doll rather than a car.

The font size and page spacing make this book easy for younger readers to access and the generous helping of illustrations make it heaps of fun. 7+

Library Girl.

*Thank you to Macmillan Children’s Books for sending me these titles to review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s